About Kerala Media Academy

Kerala Media Academy was the only institution of its kind in India when it was established on March 19th 1979 as Kerala Press Academy. It is a joint venture of the Government of Kerala, Kerala Union of Working Journalists and Indian Newspaper Society. The aim is to promote professionalism and excellence among journalsits, which the academy has been doing successfully for the last more than three decades. The Academy has set up a full-fledged institute, published books and monographs, organized seminars/workshops and instituted endowments and awards for promoting excellence.



  • To promote and co-ordinate study and research in the field of journalism.
  • To organize or help organize training courses, workshops, seminars, exhibitions and consultancy services in association with working journalists, newspaper management and universities.
  • To publish books, periodicals, monographs and research papers.
  • To co-operate with academic institutions and organizations in the formulation of syllabus for teaching journalism
  • To institute awards to honour individuals, institutions and organizations in recognition of meritorious services rendered and to grant fellowships for conducting advanced study and research in journalism.


  • 1979: The first General Council meeting of the Academy was held in June
  • 1980: Foundation stone laid for the Academy by Shri E K Nayanar, Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala, on June 8.
  • 1985: Inauguration of the Kerala Press Academy building by Shri Karunakaran, Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala on May 24
  • 1986: Institute of Communication starts functioning with the launch of the PG Diploma in Journalism and Communication course
  • 1993: The Academy started PG Diploma in Public Relations and Advertising course
  • 2011: The Academy introduces Certificate course in Non-linear Video Editing and Certificate course in Communicative English
  • 2012: The Academy launches the bi-lingual monthly magazine MEDIA, which was inaugurated by P Govinda Pillai, former Chief Editor of Deshabhimani in April
  • 2013: The Academy launches PG Diploma in Television Journalism course in September
  • 2014: Kerala Press Academy upgraded and renamed as Kerala Media Academy
  • 2017: Kerala Media Academy organises the First EMS Commemoration Lecture in memory of the state’s first chief minister E M Shankaran Nambothirippad. The lecture was delivered by Shri Prakash Karat.
  • The Academy also organized the First N V Krishna Warrier Commemorative Lecture in memory of the prominent linguist, author, poet and journalist.
  • This year, the Academy organized its First International Photo Festival
  • 2018: Kerala Media Academy organized and hosted the First Global Media Summit in association with Loka Kerala Sabha
  • The Academy instituted the World Photographer Award and the first recipient of this honour was famous international photographer Nick Ut.
  • The Second International Photo Festival was held in Thiruvananthapuram
  • Kerala Media Academy’s first Sub-Centre was opened in Thiruvananthapuram
  • Media Club was launched this year
  • Kerala Media Academy organized the first one-month Madhyama Charithra Yathra (Media History Tour)
  • 2019: The Academy started Diploma in Photo Journalism Course in January
  • The Academy organized the first Cartoon Conclave and National Conclave of Women’s Journalists in February
  • Newspages.in a website to promote works of young unpublished writers was launched this year
  • Radio Kerala, the Internet radio service of Kerala Media Academy was launched
  • The second global media summit – Loka Kerala Madhyama Sabha – was held in December in association with Loka Kerala Sabha 2020


The academy is administered by a General Council and an Executive Council comprising of working journalists, media owners, and Government representatives constituted by the Government of Kerala.